An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Malmstrom reigns with fifth back-to-back win in 2023 Global Strike Challenge

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Elora J. McCutcheon
  • 341st Missile Wing Public Affairs

Once again, Malmstrom Air Force Base made history during Global Strike Challenge 2023 by taking home the Blanchard trophy, naming them ‘best overall missile wing’ for the fifth contest in a row.

The win, secured by a 10-point difference, was a major team effort.

Global Strike Challenge is the world’s premier bomber, intercontinental ballistic missile, helicopter operations and security forces competition. Malmstrom competed against hundreds of other participants who represented Air Force Global Strike Command, Air Combat Command, Air Force Reserve Command and the Air National Guard.


“I could not be prouder of the work that the Airmen at Wing One do on a daily basis,” said Col. Barry E. Little, 341st Missile Wing commander. “Our people are absolutely our most valuable weapon system. They continue to make the American public proud, and make our adversaries think twice. This award proves their dedication to nuclear deterrence does not go unrecognized.”


Along with the Blanchard trophy, Malmstrom brought home the following awards:

Neary Trophy, awarded to the top Electronic Warfare Officer (EWO) crew– won by the 12th Missile Squadron.

Charlie Fire Team Trophy, awarded to the best Security Forces team – won by the 341st Security Forces Group.

Team and Individual Trophies:

Best Electro Mechanical Team

Best ICBM Facilities Maintenance Team

Best ICBM Operations Rapid Adaptation

Best Convoy and Aerial Interdiction

Best Sensor Employment

Best Security Forces Mental and Physical (MAP) Challenge

Best Security Forces Tactics Trophy

Best Security Forces Rapid Adaptation 

Congratulations to all competitors, listed below: 


341st Operations Group:


Capt Jacob Spatz (490 MS)

Capt Sarah Engram (341 OSS)


Lt Hannah Sullivan (10 MS)

Lt Jaydon Dobrow (10 MS)

Lt Nicole Wisniewski (12 MS)

Lt Benjamin Nelson (12 MS)

Lt Andrew Carroll (490 MS)

Lt Julia Burnes (490 MS)

Lt Micaela Bowen (490 MS)

Lt Jesse Johnson (12th MS)


341st Maintenance Group:



TSgt Anthony Lanham


SrA Brandon Meeker

SrA Noah Merkel

SrA Colton Digiuseppe

A1C Nicolas Tracy



TSgt Christian Jackson

SSgt William Bragg


SrA Nathan Baer

A1C Michael Chavez

SrA Joshua Girot



TSgt Justin Latham


SSgt Ryan Page

SrA Cory Morris

A1C Cody Qualls

A1C Gavin Tobias



SSgt Nicholas Lovato


SrA Edward Ficarra

A1C Mason Targosz


341st Security Forces Group:


MSgt Christopher Zavala

SSgt Patrick Wiedrich


TSgt Zachary Hunt

(S)Sgt Lee Laudolff

A1C Caleb Wells

SrA Benjamin Kish

SrA Kaylee Wilson

A1C Annalise Rey


40 Helicopter Squadron:


Capt Nicholas Weber

1Lt Alina Hake Vanecek

SrA Sandon Stepp

A1C Owen Anderson


341st Munitions Squadron


SrA Corbin Davis

SrA Caleb Lamb

A1C Tristen Baum

A1C Thayer Krantz

TSgt Andrew Peloquin