Lethal competition: Competition categories explained

  • Published
  • By 2nd Lt. Victoria Wright
  • Air Force Global Strike Command Public Affairs

Editor’s Note: This is the first in a series covering the competition categories of Global Strike Challenge.

BARKSDALE AIR FORCE BASE, La. -- Global Strike Challenge is the world's premier bomber, ICBM, helicopter operations and security forces competition with units from Air Force Global Strike Command, Air Combat Command, Air Force Reserve Command and the Air National Guard participating.

The competition occurs every other year, with operations and maintenance competitions occurring throughout the summer months. This year, teams competed at their home bases from June to August in seven separate competition categories:

  1. Intercontinental Ballistic Missile Operations
  2. Helicopter Operations
  3. Munitions
  4. Security Forces
  5. Bomber Maintenance
  6. Intercontinental Ballistic Missile Maintenance
  7. Bomber Operations

The competition is designed to enhance readiness, lethality, teamwork, mission pride, competitive spirit and recognize the “best of the best” in weapons systems and technical expertise.

Global Strike Challenge concludes Nov. 20 with score posting and trophy presentations at Hoban Hall on Barksdale AFB.